what will you say…

I was chatting with my boys, ages 5 and 9, about how we can respond when someone asks us about FuMei’s hand differences.  My older son had obviously thought about it some already and had several good ideas for when someone is just curious, for when someone is being rude on accident, and plans to call people on it when they’re rude on purpose, by saying, “That was rude.” (I reminded him to be respectful to adults, but I think it’s fine if he’s fairly sure that a child is being deliberately rude to respond that way.)

My 5 year old is just smitten with her, but hadn’t contributed to the conversation at all, so I prompted him to answer.  He was very thoughtful,  and replied seriously, “I think I would tell them that I want to kick them in the balls.” Oh my word, that boy! My husband and I don’t talk that way and don’t condone violence or inappropriate language, of course,  but oh my goodness, I had to try so hard not to laugh and/or give him a high five. We talked about some alternative ideas, but I love that he wants to defend her so strongly! She is going to be one protected little girl with these two big brothers around!

Photo804

One thought on “what will you say…

Leave a Reply

