don’t ask me how I am

I’m totally overwhelmed!  We’re keeping it real here, right?  I was already pretty emotional and overwhelmed about adoption/travel details, and now we’ve added a big project (which is amazing, but a lot of details very fast), and my dad is very ill and in the hospital.  Every time someone asks me how I am or tells me they’ve been praying for me, I start crying.  I gave my sweet husband a, “I’m hanging on by a thread,” warning the other day.  He’s been such a rock – I fall more in love with him every day.

Today was such a good day, though.  I had lunch with a great friend and we had such good just talking time while the kids played.  I love chatting with this friend because we dig deep and talk about real stuff.   I left feeling refreshed and more ready to face everything that’s going on.  Then, we had a park playdate this afternoon with a wonderful friend who recently adopted.  She’s my only in-person friend who gets the complexities of how I’m feeling right now in relation to the adoption.  There’s a wonderfully supportive online adoption network, but it was so good to get to talk to this particular friend in person today.  Two playdates in one day is more social that I would normally choose to be, but God obviously orchestrated exactly what I needed today with these two specific people.  I’m so thankful for our community right now.  We had several years without community, which forced us to really lean into each other.  We needed that at that time, and it strengthened our marriage considerably, but I’m thankful to have community again after a pretty lonely season.

More details on the project very soon.  Thank you for your continued prayers.  In the meantime, if you see me, just talk about the weather or tell me what’s going on with you.  🙂

One thought on “don’t ask me how I am

Leave a Reply

