getting ready for Christmas – the spiritual stuff

I posted a few weeks ago about preparing for the more secular parts of the season.  Now it’s time to share the important things!  We love Christmas around here.  We love listening to the carols and hymns, we love reading the scriptures, and we love talking about Jesus.  Here are some of the ways we’re making sure we remember the reason we celebrate Christmas in our home this year.

I’ve started collecting nativities, but I don’t have a ton yet.  Right now I have 2 that the kids can play with, which they love to do.  Sometimes a random Lego Minifigure or super hero will come join in the worship to the newborn King, which is just fine with me!  I love having them all around the house, so they’re a focal point, and so the ones the kids play with become just part of their every day play.  There’s also the one on the mantle that I showed in the other post.  I want to get more and leave some out year round.  (There is dust and laundry in some of these pics – keeping it real for ya.) DSC_0149 DSC_0150 DSC_0152 DSC_0174
This year, we’re also doing the Jesse Tree advent devotionals as a family.  I did a swap with my MOPS group where we each made 25 of one type of ornament, and then divided them all up so we had each one.  I think it’s so special to have handmade ornaments from some of my sweetest friends – I know i will cherish them forever.  We’re using this book, The Advent Jesse Tree, by Dean Lambert Smith.  It’s our first year to use it, and some of my friends ended up buying different ones, but I’ve really loved this one.  It has all of the relevant scripture noted, plus two or three suggestions of hymns or songs to sing each day.  Another thing I love about it is that for each day it has a child devotional, which has been perfect for my preschoolers and my older son, plus an adult devotional to dig a little deeper.  We’ve all learned a lot, and have spent some really special family time doing it.
DSC_0169DSC_0151
On Christmas morning, the first thing we’ll do is read the Christmas story in Luke 2, and pray together.  I’ll also wrap up Jesus from one of the nativities (or maybe the Jesus ornament from the Jesse tree) to be the first gift we open, so we make sure to talk about how what matters is our Savior, and not the presents.  This Christmas, we’re also going to try to take a break in the morning to bless someone else.  The tentative plan now is to look at our stocking goodies, and then go take breakfast to another family or individual.  We won’t stay long (unless they want us to), but share a little Christmas love and try to remember that it isn’t all about us.

We also keep our Christmas cards throughout the year to pray for the families who sent them. DSC_0157
So, what does your family do to keep the reason we celebrate Christmas in the forefront of your minds?

Leave a Reply

