Santa’s Cookies

I already explained that we do a simplified version of Santa here.  I think it’s a sweet tradition, rooted in Christian history.  As I was making our shopping list for next week (next week?!?!?), I realized I needed to make sure I have what we need to make cookies for the man in red.  We make this same recipe every year, and it’s perfect!  Some years we do cut outs, and other years just circles, but we always have lots of fun decorating on Christmas Eve.  Here are a couple of pictures from last year!
DSC_0682 DSC_0683 Santa’s Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons baking powder
3 cups all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 375*.  In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Add baking powder and flour one cup at a time, mixing after each addition.  Dough will be stiff.  Do not chill dough.  Divide dough in half.  Roll each half about 1/4 in thick.  (Roll between 2 sheets of wax paper to help with sticking.)  Dip cutters in flour before each use.  Bake cookies on ungreased cookie sheet or middle rack of oven for 7-11 minutes, or until cookies are lightly browned.

Now, decorate to your heart’s content!  Don’t forget to add lots of fun icing and sprinkles to your shopping list.

*Note:  I did not create this recipe and I am not claiming to own it.  I’ve been using it for several years, but I have no idea where I originally got it.  If you think it’s yours, let me know, and I’ll give credit where credit is due!

Leave a Reply

