smoothie time!

It’s no secret that my husband and I both have a pretty significant amount weight to lose.  We’ve both struggled with weight our whole adult lives, and I gained a lot with each pregnancy.  I was able to lose the pregnancy weight with both of the boys, but I haven’t really lost any of my pregnancy weight from my daughter…who is 2 and a half.  Ugh, I’m sick of my clothes not fitting and feeling frumpy and unattractive.  But I have had such a hard time getting going this time around.  As my doctor said, “You aren’t 24 any more.”  Thanks for pointing that out, Doc.

Anyway, we’ve been eating a lot of smoothies as meal replacements.  They can be so full of good nutrients, too.  We have them most days for breakfast and a lot of nights for dinner.

Here’s what I threw in to the ones we made tonight (all very rough measurement estimates):
3 cups frozen mixed fruit
1 cup plain greek yogurt
1/2 cup old fashioned oatmeal
1/4 cup pb2 (peanut flour)
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 cup baby kale, chard, & spinach mix

DSC_0231

DSC_0230

It works best to put the yogurt and liquids in first, then the greens, and then everything else.  Then blend, baby, blend.  I let it blend several minutes, because I don’t like to be able to “chew” the greens.  If it isn’t blending well, add a little more liquid and stir it up with a spoon.  Once they’re very well blended, I promise, you really can’t taste them.  Also, if you’re new to peanut butter flour, it adds great protein and vitamins, without tons of calories.  I was worried at first that I’d have to be really careful to mix it with exactly the right mixtures of other things because of the peanut butter taste, but it really blends in with just about everything and the smoothies don’t taste very strongly of peanut butter.   If we do want to go for a peanut butter flavor, we usually use about 2 frozen bananas, plain yogurt, oatmeal, almond milk, pb2, and maybe 3 tablespoons of nutella.  Yum.

DSC_0236

Oh, and drink them cold.  I love the taste cold, but can’t stand the texture if they warm up at all.

Leave a Reply

