experimenting with PB2 & muffin recipe!

I’ve been curious about PB2 for several years, and now it’s available at my Target, so I thought I’d give it a try!

DSC_0019

First, I used it in this recipe earlier this week, with rave reviews. This is one of our go-to lower cal desserts. Give it a try! (But, make sure you plan ahead, it has to freeze for several hours!)

DSC_0021

Then, I found this recipe on Pinterest. I wanted to try some PB2 muffins, but didn’t have any bananas (which pretty much every PB2 recipe seems to call for), so this is what I ended up with. I thought the recipe seemed a little bit unusual (no sugar, no oil). I think maybe it’s not an American blog, so perhaps their taste preferences are different (and healthier!) than ours.  So, I made some modifications, without compromising the health benefits of the recipe too much (in my opinion).  Here’s what I came up with:

DSC_0026

Pumpkin & PB2 Muffins

You’ll need:
4 eggs
1 c. pumpkin puree
1 T. vanilla extract
1 big squirt Stevia Liquid Sweetener (to taste, obviously!)
1 c. white whole wheat flour
1 c. oats
1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
2 T. PB2
1 T. cinnamon
1/4 c. chocolate chips

Preheat to 375 and spray muffin pan with cooking spray.  In a large mixing bowl, whisk the eggs.  Stir in all of the other liquid ingredients until well blended.  Add dry ingredients, and mix just until blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Use an ice cream scoop to make 12 muffins, and cook for about 20-22 minutes, until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Reviews from my fam:
I think these are pretty good, and my husband and eldest liked them okay.  My middle child wouldn’t even touch them because they’re “lumpy,” and my youngest ate a few bites and then got distracted.  So – maybe 3 stars from our house.  A decent breakfast option to throw in the rotation, and pretty good on nutrients, etc.  I’d do a little bit bigger squirt of Stevia next time, I think.  Or  maybe agave or honey?  Or maybe some applesauce substituting for some of the eggs?  They needed to be just a little sweeter.

Anyone want to perfect this recipe for me?  Or have any great PB2 muffin recipes?  I am going to try some of the banana ones as soon as I’m able to keep bananas in my house long enough to let them get nice and ripe!

One thought on “experimenting with PB2 & muffin recipe!

Leave a Reply

