Happy Love Day!

We love because He first loved us.  1 John 4:19

I love Valentine’s Day!  Do you?

It seems like there are 3 schools of thought:

1) Valentine’s Day is fun!
2)  Valentine’s Day is stupid and materialistic and I hate it.
3)  I show love to my special someone every day.

Yeah, yeah.  I know it’s a day for people to spend money on silly things that don’t matter.  I know you’re supposed to show love every day (and we do).  But, I still think it’s really fun!  I like to go all out, not with jewelry and flowers (not that I hate either!), but in fun little ways that will make my family smile.  I’ve always loved Valentine’s Day!  I remember in 4th grade, I had had strep throat that week, but my mom got special permission for me to go up for my Valentine’s party at school because it had been JUST long enough that afternoon for me to be there.

We had a special, “fancy” breakfast this morning with strawberry waffles and punch (aka strawberries in the bottom of some apple juice).  I made some eggs for the ones who like eggs, and we all spent some time chatting over breakfast.  (We aren’t really morning people, so we don’t usually do this!  Breakfast is usually more of a ‘grab a granola bar and milk” kind of thing.  Every year I say I’m going to do better about breakfast!)

The Princess was still getting her beauty sleep!

The Princess was still getting her beauty sleep!

Valentine Hunk

It was so fun!  One of my favorite family traditions.

Tonight’s plan: Papa Murphy’s Heart Baker pizza and an early bedtime for the kids.  Ravioli, steak, salad, and sparkling grape juice in the sunroom for us!

Do you have any fun Valentine traditions?

 This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.  If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person?  Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.  1 John 3:16-20

One thought on “Happy Love Day!

  1. Hi. I am stopping over from the “Wifey Wednesday” blog hop. Oh, I agree with you! We have so much fun on Valentines Day! I’ve been amazed that some couples don’t do anything to celebrate this day of love. Guess everyone see this day differently. I have 2 different blogs and love to post about celebrating this day in both of them!
    (http://cairncottage.blogspot.com/) (http://christintheclouds.blogspot.com/)
    Blessings, Ann

Leave a Reply

